Policy Briefs

India’s Place in the Quad in Light of AUKUS

Context The Quadrilateral Security Dialogue (Quad) is a cooperative group, comprised of India, Japan, Australia and the United States, that was first established in May 2007. This structure was inherited…
Policy Briefs

The Renewal of the U.S. Strategic Planning

Without turning away from counterterrorism, U.S. defense seems to be increasingly orienting its focus on China in an era of great power competition. Yet China is not the only challenge…
Policy Briefs

What is Grey Zone Deterrence?

The types of conflict states aim to deter have evolved since the Cold War, presenting new challenges each time. Deterrence theory became popular during the Cold War, with nuclear capabilities…

Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) The Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces / Le Ministère de la Défense nationale et les Forces armées canadiennes